Basket My Basket

Español | Français

Today marks World Habitat Day, an occasion set by UN-Habitat to reflect on our towns and cities and the basic right to shelter. With this in mind we’re highlighting how the World Habitat Awards recognise outstanding and sometimes revolutionary housing programmes and projects.

In the last few years we have had winners from across the globe including Finland, Uruguay, Puerto Rico, Switzerland and the Philippines. For example, in 2014 the Y-Foundation won for their work reducing homelessness in Finland using Housing First. It’s incredible to see that it is now the only European country where the number of people experiencing homelessness is not increasing. And the following year Caño Martin Pena Community Land Trust in Puerto Rico, the first CLT in an informal settlement, were chosen for their inspiring community driven project preventing gentrification.

Every year our two World Habitat Awards winning projects receive their trophy at a major UN-Habitat event. This opportunity gives projects the recognition they deserve on a global stage, whilst celebrating their amazing achievement! It also brings the two winning projects together, who undoubtedly have something to teach and something to learn from each other.

The 2017 competition is currently underway. We met with the World Habitat Awards Advisory Group at the beginning of September, where this panel of impressive housing experts helped us to select our finalists. We interviewed three of the group about their involvement with the Awards and what they look for in a project – read more here.

Our two winners for 2017 will be chosen over the coming weeks and we’ll be announcing who they are, along with several finalists, in December. The winning projects will be invited to receive their Award at the World Urban Forum in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia in February 2018.

We’ll be accepting entries to the 2018 competition from 1 January to 31 March 2018. If you have an amazing housing project to submit to the World Habitat Awards, from anywhere in the world, we’d love to receive your entry then.

Sign-up to our e-newsletter to receive updates on the progress of the Awards and for a reminder when entries open on 1 January.

Latest News

View all

Join the discussion