Basket My Basket

Español | Français

For 36 years the World Habitat Awards have celebrated, championed, and helped communities develop new innovations, ideas and advances that improve the lives of people on low incomes.

Since 1986, there have been 363 finalists from 94 countries with entries from every type of organisation working in the field of housing. Find out more about Who Wins and Why.

In a unique collaboration, our World Habitat Awards exChange teamwork with Gold Winners to drive their exciting housing concepts that we believe can bring global significance into the mainstream. While all Bronze and Silver winners are invited to join our World Habitat Awards Network.

Every year between January and March projects submit their application, which is followed by a rigorous evaluation process by an independent advisory group of housing experts to shortlist projects. Between eight and twelve projects that demonstrate exceptional work in providing or promoting access to adequate housing are finalists each year. Evaluation visits are then made to up to four projects before recommendations are presented to a panel of external judges, including the Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT). Two projects then become Gold winners and the remaining either Silver or Bronze winners.

The World Habitat Awards competition is now closed.

If you have any specific questions, please contact us at: [email protected]


Organised in partnership with UN-Habitat

Latest News

View all