Basket My Basket

Español | Français

Thank you to everyone who has submitted their nominations for the next World Habitat Awards 2016/17.

We have received some amazing projects.

We are now not accepting submissions to this round and we’ll be announcing the winners in February 2017.

You can find out the timetable for the current and next World Habitat Awards on our website as well as the winners and finalists stories from the last 30 years.

Keep updated on the World Habitat Awards through Facebook  and Twitter.

Here is a general rundown of these global awards:

  • Established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless.
  • The first awards were presented in 1986 in London by HRH the Prince of Wales and the Dr Arcot Ramachandran, UN-HABITAT Executive Director.
  • Over the years, a large range of excellent projects of different sizes and tackling a wide range of housing issues from around the world have been showcased through the Awards.
  • Winning projects receive a cash prize of £10,000 and a trophy presented at a UN-Habitat global event.
  • Peer exchanges are carried out each year to the World Habitat Award-winning projects to help share and transfer innovative ideas and practice.
  • In October 2016 the 2015/16 winners Self-Help Housing in the North of England, UK  and Caño Martín Peña Community Land Trust, Puerto Rico will be presented with their trophies at Habitat III the major UN global summit in Ecuador.
  • This recent article in the Observer provides an insightful summary into global housing solutions.


Latest News

View all

Join the discussion